RSS Feed

Freestyle Freelance.

Time for an update.  Due to a combination of Northern Noise commitments, freelance work and kick ass American TV shows, I Review Too has fallen slightly to the wayside as of late.  As well as being a platform on which to unload all my pent up geekisms, this site is also designed to be a working online portfolio.  So seen as I’ve had a number of things featured in a few different magazines lately, I thought I’d share some tasters of my published work so far.  Click the images for a better look!

Who The Hell Are Tim And Eric? News article in Total Film 185 – On sale now! Adult Swim stars Tim and Eric have a movie coming out next year and I felt more people should know about it. I pitched the idea of a ‘Who the Hell Are Tim And Eric?’ feature introducing the duo to Total Film’s readers and interviewed the guys while they were in London for their recent UK tour.

Saoirse Ronan Byzantium news exclusive – Total Film issue 185. I was also lucky enough to interview Saoirse Ronan, star of Atonement and Hanna.  During our chat we discussed her upcoming role in Byzantium, the story of a mother daughter vampire team directed by Interview With A Vampire’s Neil Jordan. These nuggets of info are also included in this month’s Total Film as a movie news exclusive.

Buzz ‘Celebrity Meltdown Moments’ shortlist feature – Total Film issue 154 – I pitched the idea for this article centered around crazy celebs temporarily losing their minds back in 2009. Total Film’s news editor at the time liked the sound of it and included it in the mag.

Tzameti 13 news feature – Total Film issue 155. This is the first article I was ever commissioned to write for Total Film. It’s a news piece on a remake of the dark French/Georgian flick 13 starring Jason Statham, Mickey Rourke and 50 Cent. Since writing this I’ve never actually seen or heard anything from this film..weird.

Back in October 2010 I pitched and penned another lead Buzz feature for Total Film, this time on Joseph Gordon Levitt’s indie movie Hesher.  More info on that piece can be found right here.

In March of the same year I came up with some captions for a celebrity photo spread in Loaded’s Nude issue.  Classy, right? You can check out my saucy wordplay by clicking here.

Viva Magazine Manchester – I Love Media City. Viva is the leading culture publication for Manchester and Cheshire and can be found in the receptions of many swanky city centre hotels, offices and coffee shops.  Published bi-monthly and extremely glossy, the magazine prides itself on its quality and content.  I was sent to get the lowdown on Salford’s state of the art Media City for a feature published in issue 4.  I also designed the article in Adobe Indesign CS4.

Viva – Razzie Awards creator John Wilson interview. Here’s an interview I did with John Wilson, creator of the Razzies or the Oscar’s for terrible movies. I pitched this light-hearted feature to the guys at Viva who felt it would be a good counter-article to their Oscar coverage in issue 4.  Again, I was able to design my own feature for publication using Adobe Indesign and Photoshop CS4.

Viva – Shark Finning.  I was asked to write a lead feature for Viva’s fifth issue focusing on the controversial topic of Shark finning.  At first this was a bit daunting – I’m use to writing hyperbole filled movie and music reviews and interviews, however after doing some research, and interviewing a member of the Shark Trust I came to enjoy being out of my comfort zone. The issue of shark finning really is quite shocking, it opened my eyes to the whole problem whilst giving me some in-print coverage around Manchester and Cheshire.

In October I will have more of my work hitting newsstands.  Look out for an interview piece in the world’s leading movie magazine Empire and another news exclusive, this time in SFX.  I’ll add these to my online portfolio when  they’re released.

Leave a Reply

