RSS Feed

Don’t quote me on this…

Posted on

Dredd

Did you see Pete Travis’ excellent Dredd movie? If not, then shame on you. This super-low budget yet intricately detailed Judge Dredd reboot was not only one of the year’s best sci-fi offerings but a film that managed to wash away any negativity left by Sly’s ropey instalment. When I was editing Front’s film section, I chose to feature the movie as the main review in issue 173, this in turn lead to the PR company which was publicising the movie to ask for a quote and star rating to feature on the movie poster. The whole thing was a little bit crazy. A week or so after I submitted the quote I had friends text me saying they’d seen my name on posters in men’s toilets and on the back covers of magazines. Check out the poster with my quote on it below:

DREDD_MIRROR_150x340 FRI[2]

This isn’t the first time I’ve been asked to provide a pull quote for a movie’s release however it’s one of the few times where my name has been included too. It’s happened once before, on the DVD case for Hooligan, a documentary chronicling the fighty world of, you guessed it, football hooliganism. You know, cus I’m such a big fan of the footy, yeah? Go team! Goal! Go on you…erm…reds? All that stuff. Here’s a pic:

Hooligan

However, unless you’re a film journalist with some degree of fame, notoriety or authority (i.e. not me) then you’ll find anonymous pull quotes a far more frequent affair. I’ve helped plug a handful of feature films, from big budget comedies like Seth McFarlane’s Ted to small independent horrors, without anyone even knowing about it. Of course, I suppose you could argue that anyone wrote these quotes…and I wouldn’t have a counter argument other than saying something like ‘No, I did. So shut up.’ Here are a few more quotes that I’ve provided over the last year, minus a by-line:

Casa de mi Padre

Casa De Mi Padre

…and one of me stumbling upon my quote in the Odeon at Manchester’s Printworks:

Casa de mi Padre Quote

Ted

Ted

Rogue River

Rogue River

Follow me on Twitter: @SiTweetsToo

Leave a Reply

